Toya J Is….Self Employed?????

Standard

Last month, a week before Christmas, I was fired from my job.

I can’t deny that I didn’t see it coming. Not only did I dream this turn of events months prior but my actions, in the form of complete apathy and irresponsibility, contributed to my termination. Of course getting fired ruffled my pride a bit. Toya does not get fired. She quits or resigns. Out of all the jobs I’ve had I’ve only been fired from one other. And that one needed to happen. So this is an anomaly.

Despite the fact that my ego was bruised I’m not at all ashamed or embarrassed to admit that I’ve been fired. Nor am I ashamed to admit that I’m not actively seeking new employment and that I don’t have steady income. This is by choice. I’ve had several job opportunities presented to me in the past few weeks.  Opportunities that I’ve kinda been on the fence about. This is because not having my time, energy, and finances controlled by someone else has left me with a sense of freedom and empowerment that I’m thoroughly enjoying.

What it is, is that I’ll be turning thirty years old this summer and I’ve reached a stage in my life where I’m tired of working for other people. It’s been well established that I don’t play well in the sand box, so the games and office politics played in the corporate world have never been something I was good at. However I do excel at whatever I put my mind to. My work ethic is strong and impeccable. To me that is way more important than playing the game but apparently I’m wrong or the majority feels otherwise. Either way what I’ve learned is that a person can be a mediocre employee and climb the corporate ladder so long as they know the game. I’m good on that.

I’ve also reached a stage in my life where I don’t care what others think of me. I’ve never been the type to dwell in or place any merit in social or economic status anyway. I know my credentials, skills, and experience and I’m confident in my abilities to where I don’t need them in order to define who I am. So yes while I’m currently unemployed I also have a three page resume that includes a degree and  several certifications along with teaching, administrative, lending,  real estate, volunteering,  and community service background, and dozens of other miscellaneous skills. I also have a great track record and a reputation that proceeds me–to the point where any of my former employers would recommend me to future employers. Including the one I just got fired from.

With all of this going for myself I decided that I would be best served using my skills to benefit me, rather than using them to put money in other people’s pockets. I decided that I’d rather be self-employed. Everything happens for a reason and the fact that I find myself in the same situation twice in less than a year means that the universe is trying to tell me something. It’s no coincidence that things would work out in such a way that I was let go from my job while, simultaneously,  a ton of other opportunities were laid out for me. And while I was paid very well,  liked what I did, and the hours were great, I wasn’t happy. I could never sync with the work environment.

I believe that this is the universe’s way of forcing me back on the path I started walking a year ago. This is also the universe’s way of reminding me never to get too comfortable with any situation because it can change over night. And to trust that everything will work out the way its meant to.

So…I guess I’m self-employed.

One thought on “Toya J Is….Self Employed?????

  1. I’ll be 30 this summer as well. But girl let me just say this, if it was me I would be freakin out. I have always admire you, your pride, self-awareness, self-respect, as well as your respect for others. The universe will never lead you astray good luck on this new life journey!

Leave a comment