Me & This Poetry Thang

Standard

I haven’t written much about my poetry ventures since I launched my poetry website back in January. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy with it. Quite the contrary–poetry has almost taken over my life.

During December and most of January I took a short break from the open mic scene in order to work on developing my website and write. In the interim I hooked up with a team of local poets and we ended up charting a poet’s organization here in Vegas. From there things have taken off so fast I can barely keep up. In addition to open mics we’ve been asked to perform at local community events, poetry lounges, and a Black History program for the soldiers at Nellis Air Force Base. We aren’t stopping there. We’re working on putting a few projects of our own as well.

I think what amazes me the most about this whole thing is the contacts I’ve developed in such a short time. I’ve gotten to know so many amazing, positive, supportive, talented people. Dj’s,  comedians, singers, poets, MCs, promoters. A whole network of people. I absolutely love it! Putting myself in the position to meet so many new people has been an amazing experience and has led to countless opportunities. All of which I am extremely grateful for.

Someone recently asked me where I wanted to take my poetry. I didn’t really have an answer, at least not yet. I’ve been writing since I was in grade school and never once did I ever consider “doing something” with it. Poetry was always an outlet for me, nothing more and nothing less. Now, my paradigm has shifted. I’ve obviously evolved–am continuing to evolve. I have a talent why not take it as far as I can? This, like everything else, is a journey.

Some Pics of Random Poetry Sets & Events

From left to right starting at the top: Me (Toya J), Imani Truth, Jess Flo & Teddy, Miss Torre, Jess Flo-Me-Roxy, P.O.E.T family (Vegas & Chicago chapters)

Leave a Reply

