Random Thoughts About Valentine’s Day

Standard

Valentine’s Day has always been a funny little “holiday” to me. According to Wikipedia:

Saint Valentine’s Day, often simply Valentine’s Day, is a holiday observed on February 14 honoring early Christian martyrs named Saint Valentine. It was first established by Pope Gelasius I in 496 AD, and was later deleted from the General Roman Calendar of saints in 1969 by Pope Paul VI.

The day first became associated with romantic love in the circle of Geoffrey Chaucer in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished. By the 15th century, it had evolved into an occasion in which lovers expressed their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines“)

Maybe its just me but Valentine’s Day was the most exciting while in school. That’s when you had classroom parties, exchanged cards, and got candy. As I got older the day kind of lost it’s relevance. I can admit that as an adult I’ve only had three truly wonderful and memorable Valentine’s Day– once last year and twice while I was in my last relationship.

Valentine’s Day is just another day for me but for very unique reasons. It’s not because I’m a bitter single woman (my being single is by choice). It’s not because I don’t have people willing to be my valentine (that’s never been an issue). It’s because February 14th is just one single day out of 365 and I feel as though a “holiday” or special occasion shouldn’t be necessary in order to show a person love. A person should be made to feel special every day.  Expressing love should be done all the time, just because.

More importantly, a holiday isn’t required to remind me that I am very well-loved. I see it through actions. I feel it in the kindness and concern others extend towards me. And yes, I even hear it when I am told “I love you”. The people in my life show me all the time in a thousand ways, big and small. And that is more than enough for me.

Valentine’s Day is only  a symbol of love but love manifested in the  day-to-day  has substance. It’s  much more beautiful and fulfilling. So with that being said, Happy Valentine’s Day folks!

 

 

Leave a Reply

