Awake

Standard

I awake

To find you in my bed

Not just in it

But laying next to me

Sleeping so peacefully

As though

 You were supposed to be there

Funny, not once have I stopped to care

How it happened

This thing with me and you

Is so ridiculously taboo

That I rather like it

It appeals to my inner rebel

Truth be told I kind of revel

In the fact that you want me

I know I should be careful

I have such a tendency to be reckless

That I never checked this

When you showed up at my door

Late night text messages

Have me willingly wanting

To play the part of the whore

Until I wake

To find you in my bed

So many random thoughts in my head

Like, how long is this supposed to last

Before things shift

As these type of things always do

Eventually

Watching you I see someone

So lonely

And I can’t help wondering

If you kiss the others

The way that you kiss me

God help them if you do

And as much as I didn’t want

To wake you

I’ve never lost touch

Of what this is

And no matter how beautiful you look

Laying there in my bed

I can’t help but wonder

How long is this supposed to last?

©2011 by Toya J

Leave a Reply

