Taking A Moment….

Standard

Between the open mics and this blog I’ve gotten a lot of positive responses from others about my poetry. It’s been nothing but love, which has been such an amazing experience for me. Let me describe what happened to me this past Friday.

After reciting spoken word at Laziza’s a few weeks ago I was invited back to be a regular part of the lineup, something that both excited me and made me extremely nervous. To make things even more nerve-racking they had me scheduled to go on first. I was to open the show.  It took me the entire week to even decide what I wanted to share. All of my friends, family, and the artists were very supportive, which made things a bit easier for me.

After I’d done my spoken word I went to the bar to grab some drinks when this woman approached me. She gave me a hug and thanked me for reciting my poetry. She told me that my words were powerful, that they had touched her and made her cry. She said she could feel my words. I was literally speechless. I had no idea what to say to her. I just thanked her and told her that it meant a lot to me that what I wrote touched her in such a way. She wasn’t the only person to come up to me that night to tell me how much she liked my poetry. Other people from the audience and a lot of  the other performers did as well.

I’ve never really assessed my poetry before therefore I’ve never thought of it as good or bad-it just IS. It’s my creative outlet. The depository for all of my thoughts and emotions. So for others to not only receive it so openly but to like it and label it as “good” and me as “talented” is amazing. It’s so amazing that it’s overwhelming.

So I wanted to take a moment to step back and say that I am extremely grateful for the support I’ve received thus far. I am humbled that I’ve been offered the opportunity to share my writing with others and I feel blessed to have been welcomed into such a positive, talented, and supportive circle of people.

It’s been such a gift to be able to inspire others with what inspires me.

 

One thought on “Taking A Moment….

Leave a Reply

