Turning 28 in Cabo

Standard

A few days after I touched down from Atlanta I was back on the plane. This time I was heading to meet two of my friends in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico to celebrate my 28th birthday. It was my first trip out of the country and an amazing experience.

I was originally supposed to stay at one of my mother’s timeshare’s but that didn’t work out. Instead we stayed at a quaint hotel called Marbella Suites en La Playa. It was a really nice place located right on Lover’s Beach in the middle of Cabo between the other resorts and downtown. The architecture of the hotel is very unique. It kind of reminds of you of a hacienda or old Spanish home, even down to the decor. My favorite thing about the hotel was the fact that it had a pool, bar, and restaurant that led right onto the beach. I spent a lot of my days there just chilling on a lounge chair drinking margaritas. It was extremely hot and humid but the ocean was beautiful. The waves were crazy but the temperature of the water was perfect. Not the mention the beach was the cleanest I’ve ever seen.

My friends and I are very adventurous so instead of hiring a shuttle or taxi we hopped on the bus almost every day and explored downtown. I gotta talk about Mexico’s public transit system. It’s not a formal system run by a specific company. It seems like pretty much anyone who owns and is able to drive a bus can be a driver . If you want to ride the trick is to stand out on the sidewalk where the driver can see you and he’ll stop. You pay the fair, usually 8-19 pesos (80 cents to $1.50) and ride until you get where you’re going. Once you’re there the best way to get the driver to stop is to go to the front and tell him where you want him to stop and he does. You get off and you’re on your merry way.

We spent many a day in downtown Cabo walking around, buying souvenirs, and eating at various restaurants.

That’s pretty much what downtown Cabo looks like. It doesn’t look like much but we had a lot of fun. There are countless shops, bars, and restaurants. The marina is also there where one can take boat cruises and water taxis around the coast. Despite the tourism Cabo is not a rich city. It doesn’t take much to see the poverty and if you somehow miss it all the street peddlers and hustlers will certainly remind you. You can’t go anywhere in the city without someone trying to sell you something and the locals are not above sending their young children out with wares to peddle.There is a general lack of basic things that Americans take for granted, like clean water. But one thing that Mexico does not lack is alcohol. The observation is very humbling.

On the actual day of my birthday my friends and I celebrated with a “booze cruise”, a two-hour boat ride around the coast that included snacks and an open bar. It was so much fun and I got to see the famous Arches and Lover’s Beach.

I spent a lot of time reflecting on my life. I’ve come a long way in the past year. And if anyone doesn’t believe me just track the transition of my blog from around this time last year. I’ve accomplished many of the goals I’ve set for myself, even down to all the  traveling. Something I made possible despite my limited resources. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to celebrate another year of life out of the country and even more grateful for the friends I shared the experience with.

I am now 28 years old, just two years away from the big three zero. I feel as though this is a very significant time in my life. Not because I’m close to turning 30 but because this has been a period of the most change in my life. As I move forward I set even higher and more challenging goals for myself. Whereas last year I turned 27 not knowing if I could accomplish my goals, this year I begin my 28th year confident in my ability to  do any and all that I say that I can do. And hopefully this time next year I will be writing about turning 29 in Thailand.

Leave a Reply

