Revelations in a Year of Self Discovery

Standard

The period between May of 2010 to May 2011 has been  the most pivotal year of my life. What’s so significant about this period is that it was the first time ever that I had the license and freedom to fully examine myself, to explore who Toya J was and is. The journey so far has been quite amazing. I’ve learned a lot about myself, about my interactions with others. I’ve learned what I can accomplish and what my limitations are. And I’ve learned that I am capable of growth. So what have I uncovered? Well…..

I’ve realized (through this blog) that I’m actually a pretty decent writer and I’ve reconnected with my love of poetry, improving on my own work.

I’ve come to understand that having peace is much more important than being right.

More on those lines I have recognized the wisdom of inaction. When it’s best to be a spectator  rather than a participant.

I’ve realized that converting to Buddhism was one of the best choices I’ve ever made for myself.

That I can endure being alone. That it’s not as bad as one might think.

I’ve learned when to pick my battles. And when to walk away.

I’ve cultivated the art of listening which has manifested into a certain humility.

I’ve had the opportunity to explore certain aspects of myself that I’ve never before  been completely open to.

I’m a lot more confident and comfortable in my own skin. I’ve developed a lot of strength and discipline.

I’ve learned how to say no. How to set boundaries.

I’ve improved how I communicate tremendously. I can clearly express what I want and what I don’t want.

I’ve found that I can actually pull an A in a math class. Which led me to realize that I shouldn’t put limitations on myself based on the things I couldn’t do in the past. I’m much more intelligent than I give myself credit for.

All of these revelations where extremely important in promoting my personal growth over the past year. The place I am at now is completely different from the place I was in May of 2010. I’ve enjoyed the journey thus far, even when it wasn’t the easier. Even when is was painful.

Let’s see what I will continue to pick up over the next 365 days.

Leave a Reply

