9

Standard

It wasn’t about having power

It was about not being helpless

I wanted to gracefully lose control

In exchange for my sanity

My heart, they could keep

I didn’t need it anyway

I wanted nothing more than to light the lantern

And walk into the dead of night

Looking back just wasn’t worth the fight

Relinquishing power with each step

Because it meant

That I was no longer helpless

My heart, they could keep

What good is it for anyway?

Too heavy to carry

Too big to pack away

I leave it where I left them

Because it was never about having power

It was about…..

© 2011 by Toya J

One thought on “9

Leave a Reply

