Deprivation

Standard

She said

Tell me how you’re feeling

It was such a novel request

I had to stop myself

And admit I’m very out of touch

With such a concept

She asked

Why such deprivation?

Damn was the starvation so apparent in my eyes?

I didn’t have an answer to her why

Instead all I could offer

Was a stream of habitual situations

Selfless decisions

Making me the warden to my own prison

Looking to someone else to rescue me

When all along I held the key

I wish I could be the type to say

Hey, I don’t give a fuck

But I don’t know how to love

In such a way

Though I’m learning a new method

The answer to her question

Is nothing but a life long lesson

That there’s no glory in self-sacrifice

© 2011 by Toya J

Leave a Reply

