Toya J’s List of Resources For Beggining Buddhists

Standard

I’m always getting questions about Buddhism and meditation from people curious about the practice. I am regularly asked to recommend books or other resources for those that have little to no knowledge about Buddhism. Over the three years I’ve been practicing I have gathered a nice list of wonderful resources. These resources have been essential in my spiritual development and knowledge.

So I figure what better place to share these resources than my blog, right? The following is my “go-to” list for beginning Buddhist. Or anyone curious about Buddhism.

Books

  • Radical Acceptance by Tara Brach (this book should be the very first book a beginning practitioner picks up) 
  • Being Black: Zen and the Art of Living with Fearlessness and Grace by Angel Kyodo Williams
  • When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chodron
  • The Beginners Guide to Zen Buddhism by Jean Smith

Magazines & Journals

Meditation Centers

Podcasts

These are great starting points. As I continue on my path I will make it a point to share what I discover and update my “go-to” list 🙂

I also encourage all experienced Buddhist practitioners to feel to share their own recommendations in the comments section below.

One thought on “Toya J’s List of Resources For Beggining Buddhists

Leave a Reply

