The Purge

Standard

I literally woke up the other morning and decided that I needed to purge. I had a sudden epiphany that this is something I should have done a long time ago. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been on this mission to center myself. I feel as though purging is the best way to accomplish this. What’s interesting about the word is that it’s both a noun and a verb, defined several ways

1-to clear of guilt, to free from moral or ceremonial defilement
2 : to cause evacuation from
3. to make free of something unwanted
4. the removal of elements or members regarded as undesirable and especially as treacherous or disloyal
It’s that last definition that I had in mind as I contemplate this whole purging thing. I want to cleanse myself spiritually, physically, and mentally. Meaning that my intent is to rid myself of any and all negative elements that are harming me in those three areas. This includes people, habits, environments, activities, etc.
As for how long I’m going to engage in this purging, I picked ten weeks. Ten may seem like a very random number but it has significance for me. It represents the exact number of times a specific mistake was repeated (though I won’t detail what that mistake was here on this post). Ten weeks, two and a half months. During this time I’ll be extra disciplined in focusing on myself. Covering myself spiritually I’ll be meditating every single morning and attending sangha once a week. Physically, I’ll be exercising and taking care with what I put into my body. Mentally I’ll make every effort to pick and chose what kind of activities I engage in and people I associate with, removing myself from anything and anyone that causes me any harm.
It may seem kind of silly but I think it’s worth a try. I think the whole idea of purging has more to do with what I remove from my life than anything else, whether it’s temporary or permanent. It will be interesting to see where I’m at come January.
Leave a Reply

