Four Goals-to get me through the next year

Standard

I’m not big on New Years resolutions. I’m a firm believer of making change and setting goals whenever the time calls for it. Well change is in the air and I welcome it.After a lot of meditating and reflection I’ve identified four goals that I will attempt to accomplish for myself within the year:

1) Buy a new car. Maybe not something brand new but newer than my 1998 Nissan Sentra. This ties into my desire to be more self-sufficient. While my Nissan is paid of and has been for the past two years, it’s twelve years old and unreliable (check engine light is on as I type). At the same time I’m trying to be a smart consumer, something I teach to clients every single day at work. I certainly don’t want something that’s going to put me in debt.I’ve been doing my research and comparing cars so we’ll see.

2) Lose weight. This has been an ongoing goal but I’ve only recently been seeing positive results. I have come a long way from where I was but there is still some more improvements to be had.  It’s interesting but for the longest time I was oblivious to how my body looked. It wasn’t that I didn’t care I just never thought about it. When I finally developed an awareness of my body it was met with insecurity. Women are made to feel extremely self-conscious about our bodies (something I’ll probably blog about later) and I’m not too proud to admit that I had a slightly negative self-image. After a time I decided to do something about it. I began watching what I put into my body and being more active. At the same time I altered how I viewed myself. All these changes have helped to build my confidence. I am at a place where I am happy with how I look. My goal of losing weight is currently about being healthy and reaffirming my confidence and less about my image.

3) Graduate school. This is an important one. My dream was always to go to law school after I graduated from Long Beach State. Well…that didn’t happen for several reasons. Truthfully after working at a law school I’ve come to accept  it as a blessing in disguise. Everything happens for a reason because as a result of taking a break from school I found my true passion, non-profit work. Since a bachelors in political science doesn’t amount to much in the real world an advanced degree it is. My ultimate goal is to run my own non profit organization.

4) Peace Corp. Yes, I want to join the Peace Corp. It was something I developed an interest in some years ago. I want to travel the world and I want someone else to fund it, lol. But seriously I love interacting with other cultures and learning from people. I could hop on a plane and travel to another country but I want to do more than play the tourist. Like graduate school this is something I’ve put off but I see no reason to continue to hold off.

There are a litany of other things I want to do in addition to these four. I want to travel more. Fall back in love with writing and get back into the local poetry scene. Become fluent in another language besides English and Spanish. Maybe start playing the piano again. Learn how to write grants. Become more of an activist. The list can go on. My point is that I have so many ideas that haven’t been realized. A lot of energy that was put elsewhere. I’ve denied myself a lot of opportunities for no substantial reason but no longer. For the next year (and beyond) it’s all about putting my success first.

One thought on “Four Goals-to get me through the next year

Leave a Reply

