Forest Altar

Standard

I went looking for the Forest Altar
Curiosity, more child than cat-like
Though alone I needed to be alone
Fearlessness and a spider greeted me behind a rock
I killed fearlessness with a stick
I demanded the earth speak to me
Not realizing that I had to invoke the conversation
I went looking for the Forest Altar
And noticed freedom hibernating in a rabbit hole
The wind came as the earth’s ambassador
My ears were closed
I went looking for the Forest Altar
And stepped on joy as it accidentally crossed my path
I neglected to collect it as a keepsake
I picked up a flower instead
I found the Forest Altar
At the end of a short path
Acknowledged the Santeria
And bowed to the Buddha
For the first time
I felt my feet touching ground
And heard the earth speak
“Are you connected to yourself?” she asked
The earth is an altar

© 2008 by Toya J

3 thoughts on “Forest Altar

Leave a Reply

